• Native Language:
      • Lithuanian
      • Home Country:
      • Lithuania
      • Current Location:
      • Lithuania
    Post Thanks / Like

Need help from native English speakers

Hello. This should be an easy task, even amusing. Here is the story from the beginning. I’m a musician from Lithuania. As a musician, I’m in constant need to introduce myself to the English speaking community worldwide. As a Lithuanian, I don’t have perfect English skills, I’d say, I can’t “feel” the language to a certain degree, and I’ve got the surname that is difficult to read and pronounce for any non-Lithuanian. I’ve considered choosing a kind of “stage name”, but I feel the risk of coming up with something ridiculous. Recently I came across the information about Americans of Lithuanian descent who originally had a family name exactly like mine, but changed the spelling according to English language traditions making it look rather common in the English context, while the pronunciation remained quite reminiscent of the previous. So I thought, once this “transcription” has been done a long time ago and the new version has spread, maybe I shouldn’t invent anything new trying to adapt my names or creating some completely new fictional pseudonym, but just use this “naturalized” variation instead? The (sur)name I’m talking about is “DISCAVAGE”. And my question is: what comes to your mind first, when you read/hear it? What does it imply? You shouldn’t force and push yourself towards any conclusion, because the answer “nothing” is even the most desirable. I assume, however, that some associations may arise, although the word means nothing per se. That’s why I’d like to know how it sounds: dark? comic? neutral? What mood has it got? I wouldn’t care about that, but in artistic terms such things do matter. Thanks in advance for your thoughts, I appreciate your help. By the way, my first name (shortened version) is Vytas – you can make some comments about its “colour” too, and how you’d re