Doctor Tim Guest

Default Non-Teacher looking for beginning advice

Greetings,

I am a rural Family Physician whose patients include many Amish. Recently some of the children have been brought to me for anxiety problems. In obtaining the histories, it became obvious that the anxiety was related to their school. Meeting with the families, including the children, it was found that for the past two years they have had a very bad teaching environment. The children were essentially expected to teach themselves and any time they asked a question in class they were called derogatory names, spanked and sent back to their seats.

The parents and students are very concerned that their English skills are not up to the standard required to successfully interact with Englishers (their word for non-Amish). One parent related that her daughter who just graduated the 8th grade (highest level for the Amish), could not converse with an English customer enough to sell a dozen eggs.

So, that is the background, now the problem and question. I have been asked by the children to teach them English. In return they will try to teach me Dietsch and take me fishing. How should I begin? There are about 15 children, grades 2-8, and the parents estimate that the highest English level is probably about grade 5-6.

Thank you in advance for any advice you might share.

Sincerely,
    Dr. Tim

KYL is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Non-Teacher looking for beginning advice

Dear DrTim.

U are indeed very brave. There are enormous of information to the point of overloaded in regard to teaching ESL. I used to teach English in a developing country and found that most of the student are physically and mentally abuse by their frustrated teachers. This probably because they themself do not know how to help the student that are having learning difficulties. The mentality is that, " This is how I learned therefore this is How you should learn too"!