• Post Thanks / Like

Question Learning styles questionnaires - useful or a waste of time?

I've been teaching ESOL in the UK for four years now, and, during that time, have heard a lot of hype about learning styles questionnaires.

I searched high and low for one that is suitable for Entry 1 learners but had no luck (does anyone have any suggestions?).

I did, however, find one to use with my Entry 2 learners (in LOWES R. and TARGET F. (1998) Helping Students to Learn: A Guide to Learner Autonomy London, Richmond Publishing), but found the results to be of limited use to me. After all, aren't we, as teachers, supposed to be using a variety of approaches, catering for all learning styles and encouraging students to process information in a variety of different ways regardless of their individual preferences? What, then, is the use of learning styles questionnaires if we are not actually going to use the results to change our teaching in any way? Does anyone have any suggestions as to how the results could be used constructively?

Or is the point of these questionnaires more about raising the students' awareness of learning styles rather than how a teacher might use the results?

What do you think? It will be really interesting to hear other people's opinions on this. Cheers!

• Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • China

• Post Thanks / Like

Re: Learning styles questionnaires - useful or a waste of time?

Quote Originally Posted by canalapa View Post
    ... is the point of these questionnaires more about raising the students' awareness of learning styles rather than how a teacher might use the results?
    You've got it, and it's even in the title, Helping Students to Learn: A Guide to Learner Autonomy (London, Richmond Publishing).