srubys is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Few very confusing things about modal verbs

Hello

Perhaps a bit about me. I dropped out of high school when I was 16, but now 5 years later I’ve decided to finish it. So I’m studying at home and then go and take exams.

Anyways, I recently started learning English. I know the language reasonably well, meaning I am able to use it correctly ( to a point ), but not on a very conscious level ( is this making any sense? ). Anyways, I haven’t learned any grammar for 5 years now ( I decided to do English exams before those for my native language, since I figured English would be a wee easier), so all this stuff is new and confusing to me. Thus, I’m hoping I will get some help here when I’ll need it?!

And I’m sorry about making three threads at the same time, it won’t happen again!

BTW – could you dumb down your explanations a bit, since I’m not the brightest of the herd?

1)
    a) When modal verbs are used, can a sentence using a modal only have forms “MODAL + present infinitive” and “MODAL + perfect infinitive”, but not “MODAL + past tense”? Thus the following is wrong:

He should told me yesterday.” ?

b) When do we choose to use “MODAL + present infinitive” and when “MODAL + perfect infinitive” when talking about something in the past?

2) Modal verbs can be used to express ideas about the past, present and future. For example, COULD can have the following forms:

“COULD + present infinitive” and “COULD + perfect infinitive”

a) “She could play the piano when she was five.”

Here we use the form “COULD + present infinitive”. But would we say that the above sentence is in simple present tense, even if it talks about the past, or does the sentence use some kind of “special” past tense form, used only when certain modal verbs are used in a sentence ?