Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    rutgurt is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Indonesian jobs?

I just graduated with my Bachelors. I have no certification but it seems that I have had no trouble finding well paid (about 20-25 thousand per year) teaching jobs in Korea and I am about ready to accept a contract but im hesitating. My problem is I have a real interest in Indonesia because Islamic History was my Major in college and I would rather stay in an Islamic country such as Indonesia where I can learn sufi-theology of the south-east asian area. I heard there are many jobs available in Indonesia that pay well, but I cant seem to find any as I guess they are not advertised as well as Korea. Can someone tell me the real story on this and what to expect??? Is it realistic for me, as someone with minimal experience (I volunteered for about 3 months teaching english to Sudanese refugees while i studied in Egypt) my chances of finding a well paid English teaching job in Indonesia and where do I go to find these??? I really only want to accept this English teaching contract in Korea as a last resort. I also would not mind teaching in the XinJiang province of China or somewhere in the middle-east besides Egypt or Saudi.

What do you guys recommend? Also, before you throw a bunch of acronyms at me and different certifications, please explain what they are or I will get really confused. I dont know what QTS is and all these different certifications. Would it be a good idea to first teach in Korea and get experience, or do you think its not out of question that I could easily get a well paid job in Indonesia for my first gig? thanks so much for your time and energy. Also pay does matter. I understand living is cheaper in Indonesia, but lots of contracts pay for housing anyway, and even if not, i live cheaply. My main concern is I have about $10,000 to pay back in student loans so pay does matter, not just the cost of living.

leemavila is offline Newbie