sadie is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Question new teacher needs sugguestion

I am a new teacher of ESOL. I have two learners who speak absolutely no english. Any sugguestions on what I should concentrate on? I decided to start with numbers and using flash cards. Should I even try to teach reading/writing english to someone who doesn't speak any english other that "hello" and "goodbye"? or should I focus on JUST speaking/hearing?

esltutor is offline Junior Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: new teacher needs sugguestion

If you're living and teaching in an English-speaking country (and it looks like you might be), I would teach some survival words, expressions and questions.

Teach the types of things you think your students will absolutely need on a day-to-day basis, and some other basic things. For example:

My name is___________.
    My address is ___________.
    My phone number is ___________.
    Excuse me.
    I'm sorry.
    Please.
    Thank you.

Also, phrases of greeting and saying goodbye.

The rest will depend on the specifics of your students' situations. Are they adults, kids, spouses, parents, etc.

Best,
    Debra
    http://www.teaching-esl-to-adults.com

Post Thanks / Like

I agree with esltutor in that you should start with simple phrases. As mentioned, definitely cover a few hello/goodbye phrases, as well as anything needed for survival. Future lessons could include prices, simple introductions, how to order food, etc. It really depends on their needs, though.

One word of caution: I would be careful about covering too much. The students will need to be able to produce the language with some degree of confidence outside the classroom. Give as many opportunities as possible to practice the phrases/target language in fun, realistic activities.