I’ve been using the internet in my classes for six years now and would like to share my ‘Top 5’ tips with you here.

Tip Number 1

Check out your target site(s) carefully before the lesson

Besides ‘spur of the moment’ image searches, never visit a site without checking it out thoroughly on your own first.

Learn how the site works.

If you need to register for membership to use the features you want to showcase, make sure that’s done.

Record the links for the exact page(s) you intend to visit during class before your lesson.

Tip Number 2

Set up your tabs.

Every major browser now offers tabbed browsing. This is really, really useful for teachers in the classroom. A typical ‘teaching tab set’ might include the following;

Google search window (I’m experimenting with iGoogle – and it’s own built in tab and tool options – at the moment. I’ll keep you posted)

Google Advanced Image Search - must be the advanced image search.

This gives you more control and it allows you to set the ‘strict filter’ option (I once did an image search for ‘nurse’ for a class of three junior high girls… This was a lesson learned the embarrassing way)

Bilingual Dictionary – As I teach in Japan, I use http://www.csse.monash.edu.au/~jwb/cgi-bin/wwwjdic.cgi?1C

(if you are in Japan – www.JDIC’s Example Search is also useful enough to have in the tab set – you can easily give students a feel for the usage of a word)

Any other sites you use regularly… (e.g. http://www.wsu.edu/~brians/errors/ for getting quick answers for common errors, etc)

Tip Number 3

Set up your teaching space properly.

This image is the Best Eikaiwa school in Miyazu, Japan.

The monitor is on the table and set in such a way that it’s visible for all students.

There is a wireless keyboard and mouse (which means that the teacher doesn’t need to turn away from the students to use the PC and that students can also use it easily.