the finishing touches to this manuscript. But it wouldn’t turn out that
    way, at least not for several days.

Does "set up" mean "turned on"?

Does "wouldn't" mean "didn't"?

colloquium is offline Senior Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: set up; wouldn't

Your interpretation of set up is fine.

Wouldn't can be understood to mean didn't: but there is a specific reason for the use of would here.

At the time, he thought he would be able to finish his manuscript, but circumstances prevented him from doing that. He is explaining how something which he hoped to do at a point in the past did not turn out the way he expected. He is expressing a sense of future time in the past; he is not able to use will in this context.

I hoped to finish my manuscript, but it turned out that I won't (will not) be able to finish it, at least not for several days.

This sentence is incorrect. To express a future sense in the past, we use would.

Many years ago when I was a student, I had no idea that I would become a successful businessman.

It can be thought of as a past equivalent of will.

I am not a teacher.

Post Thanks / Like

My wife and I had just arrived at our favorite vacation spot on the Northern California coast. The weather was beautiful, the air fresh and cool. I had set up my laptop and was ready to add the finishing touches to this manuscript. But it wouldn’t turn out that way, at least not for several days.

Look carefully at the sequence of tenses in the sentence:

<..had arrived>(past perfect)| weather was beautiful (past tense) - 'setting up the computer' is the next action in the sequence, but the sentence goes back to a past perfect form : 'had set up'

One might expect the segment to read:

The weather was beautiful, the air fresh and cool. I set up my laptop and was ready to add the finishing touches to this manuscript.

What meaning/effect does it have, when the past perfect is re-introduced? Any thoughts anyone?

Post Thanks / Like