work experience / work experiences /single or plural?

Status
Not open for further replies.

amigo

Hi teachers,

I've scanned some of the resume writing book at bookstore,I've noticed most of them use "work experience" or "project experience" as the heading,following a list of employment.However,some use "work experiences" just made me so confused. which one is correct or wrong?

In cover letter,assuming you have experience working for more than 1 employers,should I use
"I have more than 6 years experience in the textile industry,including two years as phone order representative." ? or
"I have..... experiences....." ?

Casiopea

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
(1) North American English: work experience
(2) Note the apostrophe: "6 years' experience in the textile industry, including two years' experience as a phone-order representative."

Steven D

Member Type
English Teacher
Casiopea said:
(1) North American English: work experience
(2) Note the apostrophe: "6 years' experience in the textile industry, including two years' experience as a phone-order representative."

Is the apostrophe absolutely necessary after "years"? Is it a rule the that the years possess the experience?

:?:

Casiopea

VIP Member
Member Type
Other
X Mode said:
Is the apostrophe absolutely necessary after "years"? Is it a rule the that the years possess the experience? :?:
Abso-aphostrophe-lutely!:lol:

It goes by the term, genitive of measure: For expressions of time and measurement, possession is shown with an apostrophe -s.

Merriam-Webster Dictionary of English Usage said:
the room's furnishings, the airplane's speed, the building's foundation, one day's leave, a dollar's worth, two dollars' worth, a year's wages, the Eighty Years' War
You know you're dealing with a genitive of measure if you can (a) replace the apostrophe with the preposition 'of' and (b) rephrase it by using a periphrastic construct:

(a) six years' experience => six years of experience (replaced)