Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Question How to make my spoken English more fluent?

I am a university student and I have learned English for a few years.
    I have learned thousands of words by heart, but I just do not know how to express myself.
    When talking with foreigners I often felt that I can not make myself fully understood.
    Need for help.
    Thank you!

Neurotica Guest

Default Re: How to make my spoken English more fluent?

Hi there...

Practice... Talk english just about anywhere. Listen to 'english' songs and try being the chorus. Watch English movies and try not to play it too hard on the rewind though. That should help you.

Regards,

Neurotica

Post Thanks / Like

I am very thankful to you for your advice.

isaaclondon Guest

Cool Re: How to make my spoken English more fluent?

Well, I know what worked for me:

Talking!

I came to London 2 years ago.
    I thought my level was quite good until I arrived here.

I couldn't understand most of the people!

Hindu, Scottish, South African, American...and then English people were the worst of all!

So, what helped me? Just talking to them. living with them, listening to them every single minute of the day. From work, to cooking together in the kitchen of our flat, anything counts.

The more interesting is the people around you, the more important is for you to be understood, so you'll work harder (unconsciously).

And you are studying 24/7!

If you go to classes, or you do some homeworkl, you may spend 3 or 4 hours a week stuying, but if you are surrounded by english speakers, you study 24/7.

My brief advice?

Live with english-speaking people, go shopping with them, go clubbing with them, etc.

Neurotica Guest

Exclamation Re: How to make my spoken English more fluent?

Hi there...

That could do it too, if everyone can afford a ticket to the US and sticking around english-speaking people can also make the learner learn slang which isn't that proper.

Regards,

Neurotica