dragongal Guest

Question writting essays in examination

Im a student in O Levels.In the O Levels examination,we are given one hour for comprehension and 2 hours for 2 essays.In previous exams,i have scarcely manage to finish the essay part,and even then i was not satisfied with what i wrote.I am used to writting a draft and then review it.But in exam,it is not possible,there is not enough time.So I would like to know of a method which will help me write faster but at the same time well,and also keep my mind from wandering else where(which happens when im trying to gather my thoughts).

There's another thing.I would like to know whether in exams,Im writting an essay and NOT a story,am I allowed to switch the tenses.For example,I was writting in pass tense and I want to switch to present tense.

RonBee is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: writting essays in examination

It seems that your teachers want to see what you can come up with in a hurry. I would be interested in knowing what their comments have been. To stay on the safe side, I would keep everything in the same tense.

Note:
    writing
    past tense
    I'm

Steven D is offline Senior Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by dragongal
    Im a student in O Levels.In the O Levels examination,we are given one hour for comprehension and 2 hours for 2 essays.In previous exams,i have scarcely manage to finish the essay part,and even then i was not satisfied with what i wrote.I am used to writting a draft and then review it.But in exam,it is not possible,there is not enough time.So I would like to know of a method which will help me write faster but at the same time well,and also keep my mind from wandering else where(which happens when im trying to gather my thoughts).