xixer alex Guest

Commas for Subordinated Clauses

Dear sir/madam

I have been teaching high school students in Brazil for the last 12 years and I have a doubt which I would like to have cleared out. Is it possible to have a subordinated clause placed in front of the main clause without the use of a comma? Here is the sentence which was present in the University Entry Exam for the Federal University of the State of Santa Catarina.

Depending on where you are going there are a number of suggested immunizations.

Shouldn't there be a comma between "going" and "there are"?

Like this:

Depending on where you are going, there are a number of suggested immunizations.

Thank you very much for your attention

Post Thanks / Like

Thumbs up Re: Commas for Subordinated Clauses

Quote Originally Posted by xixer alex View Post
    Dear sir/madam

I have been teaching high school students in Brazil for the last 12 years and I have a doubt which I would like to have cleared out. Is it possible to have a subordinated clause placed in front of the main clause without the use of a comma? Here is the sentence which was present in the University Entry Exam for the Federal University of the State of Santa Catarina.

Depending on where you are going there are a number of suggested immunizations.

Shouldn't there be a comma between "going" and "there are"?

Like this:

Depending on where you are going, there are a number of suggested immunizations.

Thank you very much for your attention

Yours is a very good question
    In many grammar books that 'rule' appears, but then, when paying close attention to texts in general, you will find many sentences like the one you've posted.
    I would say that the use of a comma in sentences like this is a 'preferred form' which may mark a sense/breath group (a rule prescribed to avoid misreading of sentences that are too long, which is not the case of this sentence, or perhaps to avoid misunderstanding an ambiguous sentence)