evilside is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Post Writing in English, 03

Transactional letter

Task: You recently entered a competition for learners of English. You have just received this letter from the organisers of the competition, on which you have written some notes. Write a letter in appropriate style.

Dear Ms Ionescu,

Thank you very much for you letter informing me that I have won first prize in your competition for learners of English. I am writing to give you the information you requested and to ask a few questions.

My name is Maria Gabriela Nedelcu but most people call me Gabbie. I was born on June 14 and Iím 20.
    Iím student at the Law University and in the same time, Iím at the Faculty of Management in Public Administration at the Academy of Economic Studies.
    I started studying English when I was 4 years, when my mother hired a tutor teacher who teach me to speak very good English in a short period of time because we had to move in Manchester, England. I lived here for a period of approximately 13 years because my parents have got very good jobs in a famous banks in England. I returned to Romania to pursue the courses of the Law University from Bucharest, university that my parents graduated many years ago.

Due to long period spent in Manchester, I can say that English has become for me as a mother tongue, I can say that English has no secret for me.

You asked which of the two cities (Sidney or Amsterdam) I would like to visit and when. I have chosen Sidney and I would like fly out at the beginning of May and begin my English course immediately. With regard to any special arrangements, would it be possible for me to fly home at the end of May as I would like to spend two weeks visiting relatives in Australia once I have finished the language course?