Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: Please correct

Post Thanks / Like

Default Please correct

Hello. We are required to submit a story about people's experience with ATM machines. I am a level 6 student and still not confident with my English. Your comments will be valuable. Thank you.
    My Mom’s Affair with the ATM

My mom met her first ATM when she was still studying to become a doctor. One day, the hospital authorities gathered the staff to announce that the usual way of getting wages will change. There will be no more checks or cash from the cashier. Everybody will go to the bank and claim their money through a machine called ATM, which was new then. There was a moment of silence followed by a gradually increasing volume of chatter. Questions were thrown from every corner of the room “how can the machine know how much?”, “wont the machine make mistakes?”, “how can we complain if there are problems?, the machine wont talk back!”, and there were simple problems that were not simple to most of them like “how can I talk with the machine, I don’t know computers!” and “what if I punched the wrong keys, will my money disappear?”

Patiently, the authorities explained the procedure to the doubtful crowd. Gradually, their fears dissipated but still most went home unconvinced. They, however, cannot complain, they were just government employees and these were government rules. My mom was one of those who went home grumbling. She considered herself conservative and very resistant to change. She consistently wanted to know “more reasons” before she “bowed down” to changes.