Donna Franco is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Question Children Speaking English

Hi, I am a nanny and English teacher for a 6 year old Italian boy, I have been working with him for 6 months for 6 hours a week, his understanding of the language is good, he can count, knows colours, days of the week and so on, I am happy with his progress so far, however the problem is he will not demonstrate to his parents what he has been taught and refuses to speak English when they are with him, they are beginning to doubt that he knows even the basics of the language, please can you give any suggestions to help him/me overcome this, many thanks Donna

English-coach is offline Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Spain
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Children Speaking English

I don't know why but this idea just popped into my head. I would try to incorporate games where you record or video him. You could start by just having the camera in the room and then slowly get the video involved so you can capture him in English on video or audio.

What to do with this?

1) You can turn it into a game and watch yourselves speaking in English
    2) You can show his parents he does know more than he is letting on. Maybe if they watch the videos together he will stop being so shy or evasive about speaking in English infront of his parents.

Be careful with this though. I work with adults so I am not sure how kids will react. He might love it...or hate it. Just an idea though.

Hope that helps!
    Diana
    LEARN ENGLISH BY USING IT: ANSWERS & MOTIVATION FOR ANY ENGLISH LEARNER

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by English-coach View Post