Frischfisch is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Cool Motivation letter for university - please help me!

Hey guys

My name is Marco and I am applying for a University. Therefor I have to write a motivation letter, which put's me in front of some problems.
    Would be thankful for some advise referring to content, style and coherence.
    Don't have to much time, becuase I have to hand in the letter on Friday, so plz post as fast as possible

Thank's a lot for any comment!!

Dear Sir or Madam

I am writing to apply for the Master's program in International Affairs. My purpose in this letter is on one hand to present the reasons why I want to choose the HEID and on the other why I see myself suitable for the program.
    After three years of study at the University of Basel I graduated last summer in Business and Economics with a Major in Economics. Due to the broad field of my studies which included Business and Economics I got the chance to deepen existing interests and discover new one’s. As my Major shows I put emphasis on economics, with an international focus. I learned how growth theories explain the failure of states and how alternative financial aid systems, as microcredits, improve people's live. The mainly mathematical focus posed on these theories, helped me to compound my analytical skills and equipped me with the necessary framework to analyze complex problems.

I am aware that economic approaches alone, in most cases, are not adequate to face the global challenges they explain. That's why I took the chance to attend lectures like “Regionalism and International Political Economy”, “The System of the WTO”, “International Conflicts and Globalization” and others to gain insight into global challenges and its international interdependences from another point of view. The emphasis posed on interdisciplinarity in these lectures strengthened my intention to seek a study in International Affairs.