Thread: MA dilemma

John Ho is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default MA dilemma

I've been teaching ESL/EFL for about 12 years now, and finally have made up my mind to go ahead and earn an MA in AL. Looked at many programs and have them narrowed down to either University of New England (Australia) or University of Nottingham (UK) -- but would still consider other possibilities.

My dilemma: UNE offers classes that seem more interesting to me personally -- and they don't require a dissertation. UNott requires a dissertation and offers few classes that appeal to me. Some of my friends think this is a no-brainer. But I'm not so sure. Teaching English is my chosen career, and I want to do what's best for the future in that regard. Not sure if I'll ever be interested in a Ph.D. I really enjoy teaching. I want to be able to teach English anywhere without worrying about the 'respectability/acceptance' of my degree. And I'm interested in teaching at the university level --either in the regular curriculum or in a university ELC.

Does it really make a difference whether I have an MA from UNE or UNott???

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: MA dilemma

Some criticise courses without dissertations as part of a lightweight downward trend, yet I have taught in ELCs without being asked about mine- . However, Nottingham is in the top 100 universities in the TES list, while UNE doesn't make the top 500 according to my search and this may well have some cachet, which could be an edge in an increasingly competitive area.

It is a hard call to make not a no-brainer to me- I had a look around the UNE site and I left with a nagging feeling about it. How much more interesting is their course?

John Ho is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like