Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Favorite accents of English?

Do you have any favorite accents of English? And what accent do you try to incorporate in your own speech?

I'd say that my speech is the closest to the Midwest American English. But then again, I'm not an expert...

I'm a bit of a freak on accents, I like differences in the way the British and the Americans speak. I'm currently interested in the Boston accent - the non-rhotic accent. I think it's a cool accent. Note that I'm not considering vocabulary here (in that case, we'd be speaking of dialects), I'm talking about phonetic things here.

What accents do you like most? I like London's Cockney, Irish accent (republican) and New York accent in particular.

Any other accent freaks like me out there? ;)

thedaffodils is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • China
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Favorite accents of English?

I'm not a fanatic of accents. Any accents of English are fine to me if I can understand the speakers' well. I think I just can distinguish the accents bwtween Americans and Britons, and I am not familiar with other accents.

Personally, I prefer the accent of the Queen's English, but many Chinese love American accent more.

It is very hard for many of us Chinese to understand Indian accent of English. I was also discouraged by a kind of Australian accent. My supervisor who is a Chinese understood him well but I failed during our meeting. The only word I caught from his speech was container, which that Australian pronounced as 'con [kon]-ta[ta:]-ner. But I understand speaking of other Australians' well.
    Last edited by thedaffodils; 06-Feb-2009 at 02:44.

Post Thanks / Like

i like british accent that sounds pretty cool...