danieloneil is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default New English Teacher Looking For Advice

I am a new English teacher for a company in China, I have never taught EFL before so this is new to me. My company asked for a 6 month to a year course plan, but I am unsure how to complete it. If anyone could help me or give me advice on how to make a course outline I would appreciate it.

jomo27 is offline Key Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Student or Learner
      • Native Language:
      • Indonesian
      • Home Country:
      • Indonesia
      • Current Location:
      • China
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: New English Teacher Looking For Advice

Not a teacher.

Well, you will need to write down everything you want to teach and of course you have to know what you must do.

Are you going to teach them? I mean.... Teaching English?

Tdol is offline Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines
    Post Thanks / Like

How many stydents are there? What are their levels and what are the expected outcomes for each level? The 6-month to 1-year parameters are so far apart that you would need to have different plans for them IMO.

Post Thanks / Like

The former English teacher emailed me and told me to just get 2 teachers editions textbooks and teach from those. Now I have their TOEIC scores, of course I am having trouble finding out what score means what, but at least I have a list and can figure where they are. They would like 3 groups High Middle and Low. I am thinking I may just organize them into the groups from their scores and administer my own short, multiple choice assessment to figure where I should begin. Some are fluent, some are not. And yes I am teaching them English or improving what they already know.

• Member Info
      • Member Type: