joerg is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

had been preceded OR was preceded ?

Can anyone please tell me which solution is more appropriate and correct usage repectively? My guess is "had been preceded", but I am not sure. Thank you very much

Example:
    From 1977 his posters have dealt with social topics , such as the poster series from 1981 , which was preceded (had been preceded ?) by a plant activity.
    ----------------------------

I was told that you use Present Perfect when talking about an action that started in the past without mentioning a specific time. Does that mean I have to use Present Perfect Progressive in Example#2, as "1981" is a specific time? Then again, I have seen examples like "I have been studying English for three years.." and "I have studied English for three years..". Is "three years " not specific then? Does it mean, whenever I use "since" in combination with something like "1978" I have to use Present Perfect Progressive?

Example #2: Since 1981 he has documented (has been documenting) the changes in his immediate social environment.

--------------------------------------

I have read that normal restrictions apply to verbs that don't take continuous forms like in the example below:
    Example #3:
    I've had this car since 1987. It's time I changed it.
    INCORRECT: *I've been having this car since 1987. It's time I changed it.*

But Iam sure I have seen sentences like "I have been having..." ??

-------------------------------------

Example #4: In 1991 he was awarded a prize OR had been awarded a prize? (I have to admit, these tenses confuse me at times, the more I think about them.)

Regards Jorg
    Last edited by joerg; 13-Feb-2009 at 19:03.

abaka is offline Senior Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Other
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: had been preceded OR was preceded ?