xbefaloud is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Help - Really appreciate it

Hello

I am currently in my third year of university. I have chosen English as an additional language as the title for my dissertation. I am due to carry out interviews on members of staff at a school tomorrow. I was wondering if anyone here would like to help me pilot the questions by either answering them, suggesting any ammendents that might be needed to the questions, rearrange the ordering of my questions, any additional questions or just any suggestions really.

Here are my questions

Did you choose to teach in a school with a high proportion of EAL pupils? Why?

What teaching qualities do you feel an EAL teacher needs?

When an EAL pupil joins the school, is an initial assessment made on the child? Who carries out the assessment?

What are your opinions on a child attending an initial English programme before they start school? Do you prefer the idea on an after school programme? The child is then experiencing both being in a setting and not feeling isolated and has an opportunity to develop their English on a more one to one basis.

The issue of EAL pupils sometimes being referred to as a child with SEN has been debated over the years. Is a child immediately put on the SENCO register at this school?

Do you thinking being an EAL learner impacts on the child significantly? Why?

What strategies do you use to help meet the needs of EAL pupils?
    How do EAL pupils relate to and interact with their fellow pupils and staff at school?

Have you encountered any difficulties? What are the biggest challenges you face when teaching EAL pupils? Possibly the silent period pupils go through?

What do you believe are the biggest challenges facing EAL pupils?

Do you think acquiring a new language is easier for younger pupils? They are learning the language young and therefore have more chance throughout school life?