jasna Guest

Exclamation past simple and present perfect

Hi, I just want to ask if someone maybe knows how to teach the difference between past simple and present continuous? I am a teacher to be and we have to make a lesson plan to introduce that to the learners...I am having some difficulties and I was wondering if someone can help me?? I am almost desperate so please....HELP!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: past simple and present perfect

Quote Originally Posted by jasna
    Hi, I just want to ask if someone maybe knows how to teach the difference between past simple and present continuous? I am a teacher to be and we have to make a lesson plan to introduce that to the learners...I am having some difficulties and I was wondering if someone can help me?? I am almost desperate so please....HELP!!!
    Welcome, jasna

What are the difficulties you're coming up against?

jasna Guest

well to tell you the truth I don't know how to explain the difference to the learners. which examples to use? and how to introduce them this difference? through text, model sentences? thanks for your answers...

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by jasna
    well to tell you the truth I don't know how to explain the difference to the learners. which examples to use? and how to introduce them this difference? through text, model sentences? thanks for your answers...
    OK, well, here's one thing that may help you. Take a look at how the various textbooks available introduce and explain the simple present and present continuous.

Take into consideration the level of your students (i.e., what can they do?), and their first language background (i.e., how do they use the various tenses in their languages, and do they even have the same tenses?).

Design a lesson with activities for listening, speaking, reading, and writing. You could start by