negandhimehul is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Please judge Letter and estimate a Band score

Task:-
    You are due to start a new job next week but you will not be able to because you have
    some problems.
    Write a letter to your new employer. In your letter
    • explain your situation
    • describe your problems
    • tell him/her when you think you can start.

My attempt:-

Dear Sir/Madam,

This is in context of the job, I am scheduled to join, next week with your firm. It with regrets that I would like to notify that I won’t be able to join the same from next week.

As you are aware, I have been working with my current employer for past 4 years as the General Manager. I had explained to my employer about me having to join with your firm from next week to which I got an agreement.

Since I have been involved in a lot of activities for the company, its not been easy for the new General Manager to take over and understand all the responsibilities in the months time of hand-over. Most critically the representatives of our biggest customer have not been in touch, hence there hasn’t been enough communication for the new GM to replace and take over his responsibities. I have henced been requested by the top manangement to extend my stay by a fortnight.

I would hereby like to request your kind permission to allow be to extend my stay in my current company by a fortnight to allow me to do a complete hand over of my current responsibilities will look forward to your acceptance of my request and joining your company a fortnight later.

Yours Sincerely
    Marc

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Please judge Letter and estimate a Band score

Quote Originally Posted by negandhimehul View Post
    Task:-
    You are due to start a new job next week but you will not be able to because you have
    some problems.
    Write a letter to your new employer. In your letter
    • explain your situation
    • describe your problems