Unregistered Guest

Question "is no" vs "is not"

My wife constantly corrects me when I say things like "there is no reason..." or "there's no point..." etc. She tells me to say "there is not a reason..." or "there is not a point."

However, when I do a Google search for 'english gramar "there is no reason"', I get a number of links to English-related websites like this one where the "experts" are using these terms.

Getting to the point: Is it ok to say "there is no reason..."?

-Tim Kramer

P.S. (Yes, I know my question mark is on the wrong side of the quote, but I am a computer scientist and it makes more sense to me that way).

Post Thanks / Like

Re: "is no" vs "is not"

Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered
    My wife constantly corrects me when I say things like "there is no reason..." or "there's no point..." etc. She tells me to say "there is not a reason..." or "there is not a point."

However, when I do a Google search for 'english gramar "there is no reason"', I get a number of links to English-related websites like this one where the "experts" are using these terms.

Getting to the point: Is it ok to say "there is no reason..."?

-Tim Kramer

P.S. (Yes, I know my question mark is on the wrong side of the quote, but I am a computer scientist and it makes more sense to me that way).
    Well, tech. . .nically, she's right but you're right about the placement of the question mark. The question mark is not part of 'there is no reason', so it should be outside the quotation marks.

About 'no' and 'not'. Here's the whathaveyouz. "I have" means, I possess, whereas "I have no shoes" means, I possess nothing, which sounds pretty much OK first glance, but at the root of the semantics, what's actually being expressed is a contradiction: I have something but that something doesn't exist. How can you have something that doesn't exist? I believe that's the meaning your wife is drawing on when she says, "Say, There is not a reason."