Post Thanks / Like

Question How to teach casual conversation?

I'm a college student in the United States. I'm learning Mandarin Chinese, and lately I've been meeting with a Chinese international student to "exchange languages"–I help her with her English and she helps me with my Chinese.

Her English pronunciation and grammar are both really great, but lately she's been complaining that she doesn't have many American friends because doesn't know how to engage in the "getting to know you" conversations people usually have when they meet each other. I've had kind of a hard time helping her–small talk is the sort of thing that as a native English speaker you know how to do, but not how you do it.

Does anyone know of any resources for teaching how to engage in casual conversation? I've found a few pages of "conversation starters", but they seem tailored for use in an ESL classroom setting as icebreakers, and not really for everyday use. If anyone has any suggestions, I would really appreciate it. Thanks.

hjack22406 is offline Newbie
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: How to teach casual conversation?

iainmac is offline Newbie
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Great Britain
      • Current Location:
      • Italy
    Post Thanks / Like

I think this is a cultural issue rather than a pure 'language' issue. It might be worthwhile explaining what smalltalk entails, why we bother and what is likely to happen if we don't engage in it. Maybe you could try and find examples of these social encounters, either in literature or on film to get your friend more used to the kind of irrelevant stuff people talk about just for the sake of 'making contact'. Maybe she won't be very good at it - lots of native speakers aren't either - but at least you can reassure her that a few polite words will be enough to let other people know that she's shy rather than unfriendly.