Unregistered Guest

Default going from intermediate to advanced - please help!!

Hello everyone!

I am currently doing my masters in biomedical physiology, so my English in general is not that bad. But I seem to constantly make mistakes in terms of using articles. I felt that it's relatively easy to go from the very beginner to the intermediate level, but it's considerably harder to master English (or any languages for that matter). Could you any of you experts give me advices or suggestions? Any comments from anyone like me who are currently working on polishing his/her English would be appreciated as well!

Thank you,
    Cate

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: going from intermediate to advanced - please help!!

Anyone??

Post Thanks / Like

My best advice would be to do a lot of reading and listening, immerse yourself in written and spoken English from native speakers and quality sorces. The more you read and listen, the better your intuitive feel for what is appropriate usage.

Post Thanks / Like

Thank you for your advice!
    Yes, that's exactly what I want to do-immersing yourself in Englsh speaking environment. But the thing is, I live in a house where everyone speaks our mother toungue. So I'm thinking of joining a Toastmasters club. Will it help? Could you suggest any other specfic things/activities/tasks I could try to improve my English?

Also, for people like me, what's that best way of increase the reading speed? (reading a lot of easy books OR reading difficult books, gradually increasing your speed, OR any other suggestions?)

Thanks!!

Post Thanks / Like

no more replies?...

Ok.. Can anyone tell me if there are any other forums where I can seek for advices?

Post Thanks / Like