• Korean
      • Home Country:
      • South Korea
      • Current Location:
      • UK
    Post Thanks / Like

Default How to speak spontaneously

Hi everyone!

This website has been a great, great help for me as a keen English learner. And this is my first time to post to ask for advice.

I am studying English at the advance level at the moment and I believe that my knowledge of grammar and vocabulary have improved a lot as I keep studying. However when it comes to speaking, I still find myself embarassing and lost! I don't know how to explain it. In a particular situation, if a teacher throws a question at me out of the blue in a class or even when I have to do any interview in English, I just can't express myself spontaneously and end up murmuring (!)
    My friend says it is because I'm too self-conscious and have a lack of confidence. But I don't think just that is. As we know, all languages have so many different ways of expressing the same meaning. When I was a beginner, I immediately knew what to say as I had very limited sentences. But now, my brain gets easily messed up trying to find as close a word or phrase as you want to express. As I said, I'm rather slow and not extemporaneous speaker. For writing, it usually takes so much time to choose the right one among the sentences that I have written. I wonder anyone had the same problems as I have and now has got over it. Please give me a tip.
    Sorry for having drawn out my writing.

Btw,could you spot any mistakes that I made in writing? I would be grateful if you correct me.

Cheers.
    Hannah
    Last edited by grapefruit; 30-Jun-2009 at 10:25.

Ouisch is offline Moderator
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • English Teacher
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: How to speak spontaneously