Thread: Getting info

Post Thanks / Like

Smile Getting info

Hi I am a education student at St. Catherine's University in ST. Paul, MN. I am currently taking an Immigrant Experience class and doing research on the ESL program. If anyone would help me out with some questions I would really appreciate it. ESL is something I am interested in pursuing.

1. How do you get ESL certified?

2. Do you need to be bi-lingual?

3. When a student speaking no English comes, what is the first step in assimulating them to their new language?

4. What is the biggest challenge for an ESL teacher?

If any question sends you an urge to respond, I would appreciate any or all responses. Thanks for your time!!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Getting info

1. You probably take a certification course. Someone who works in the ESL program there should be able to tell you what certification you need in Minnesota and how to get it.

2. No. If you are working with a very particular immigrant population, it may be helpful for you to communicate if you know their first language. However, 1) you may be working with a mixed group who speak a variety of first languages, and you could not be expected to know all of them, and 2) there is also the argument that the best learning comes from total immersion. If they know they can communicate better with you in their first language, it reduces their motivation (imperative) to communicate in English.