Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Accent Related

Unregistered Guest

Accent Related

I am a student .I want to learn neutral accent . Please tell me all the possible way to learn it..

Thanks

Suneel Mishra

Eden Darien is offline Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • Malay
      • Home Country:
      • Malaysia
      • Current Location:
      • South Korea
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Accent Related

Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
    I am a student .I want to learn neutral accent . Please tell me all the possible way to learn it..

Thanks

Suneel Mishra
    If you mean native accents...
    Either go to Britain or The States.
    And perhaps Australia? Depends on which accent you are fond of.

If you mean neutral (English which everybody can understand you), just buy some books accompanied with CDs and listen to them, do some practise frequently and ask guidance from experts. That will do, I guess...
    Last edited by Eden Darien; 23-Jun-2009 at 12:31.

Raymott is offline VIP Member
    • Member Info
      • Member Type:
      • Academic
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post

Thanks

Suneel Mishra
    There are no neutral accents.
    You probably should try to identify what sounds you are making that people have trouble understanding and change them until they are not a problem. You'd probably need someone else to tell you which of your sounds are difficult to understand.
    Last edited by Raymott; 23-Jun-2009 at 12:10.

Post Thanks / Like

It is hard to say if there is a worldwide neutral accent.... I would say there is not... No matter how you speak, people will generally know the area of the world you are from (or that you sound like).