Student or Learner
Native Language
Japanese
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
My name is Marie and I'm 20 y.o.
I am natural born American but I was raised in Japan until I was 14.
At that time I couldn't understand a single word in English.
it's been 6 years since I came in to United States, yet there are still times I struggle with English, grammar wise and Vocabulary wise.

Anyways, I am currently trying to apply to University or college and I'm having a hard time writing some formal letters or e-mails to the admissions. I am not very good at organizing what I want to write in English, especially in a professional way.

here are the some of the stuff I want to put in my letter:

• I did not finish high school, however I did get my school diploma at Adult Ed School.
-I'm not sure if its wise to explain them why i didn't finish my high school, but because my grades in high school was not very good and I had to move a lot state to state. I also had some family issues that I had to deal with.​

• I also want ask them some questions about requirements, costs,what are the process to apply, and other information about the school

I also not sure how does "applying for University" things works, so it will be great if someone could help me with both issues I'm dealing with right now...:/

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
I think you should be prepared to explain why you didn't earn a high school diploma. You also need to be willing to explain why you want to go to college and what you hope to accomplish there.

The college admissions office should be able to help you with the admissions process. If you have any questions, ask them.

You have some problems with your writing. Punctuation, for example. Let's see what we can do about that.

Tarheel

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
American English
Home Country