Tutor Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

PerhapsICanHelp

Member Type
Other
Hello everyone. I was wondering if you could help me. I am a rather inexperienced tutor in an ESL class. It is kind of a unique situation because I don't know what we will be learning about until I get there so I can't really prepare and end up thinking on my feet a lot.*

I was wondering if there were some general pointers you could give me about how to teach english better. I am rather soft spoken and I feel a bit intimidated tutoring people who are older than me. I love doing what I do, I just want to be able to get better at it. The class I work with is almost entirely spanish speakers if that changes anything.

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.

PerhapsICanHelp

Member Type
Other
Thank you. I will try to be a bit more self confident. I wish I could prepare more, but I am merely support. There is a teacher that decides the lessons and I help them work through the worksheets and stuff. I will try not to let my age handicap me though. Thanks for your answer. :)

DRThomas

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
Costa Rica
Perhaps you need to sit down with the teacher you mention and ask for advice. Apparently, a teacher is doing his/her thing and leaving you completely out of the loop. By asking for advice, you are not threatening the teacher and you are letting the him/her know indirectly that there is a problem that the teacher can solve easily and look like a hero to everyone. The goal would be, of course, to find out what in the world the teacher is doing, what the game plan is, and where the students are going to be in a week, in a month.