Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Spanish
Home Country
Spain
Current Location
Spain
Hello, I am new to this, so if this is not the right thread to post this, please tell me.
I do not understand well the end of the song "I am the very model of a modern Major General". I think that 'to bring down' means 'to destroy' or 'to kill', but maybe one hundred years ago it had another meaning:

"For my military knowledge, though I'm plucky and adventury,
Has only been brought down to the beginning of the century;
But still, in matters vegetable, animal, and mineral,
I am the very model of a modern Major-General."

What I understand is:
"Maybe my military knowledge has already been surpassed many years ago,
but anyway I am still the very model of a modern Major General". Is it really what he means? Thank you!

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
It means that he is a very good Major-General, one who could be used as an example.

Rover_KE

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
'My military knowledge has only been brought down to the beginning of the century' means that he knows nothing of military history beyond the start of the nineteenth century.

Rover

anto74

Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Spanish
Home Country
Spain
Current Location
Spain
'My military knowledge has only been brought down to the beginning of the century' means that he knows nothing of military history beyond the start of the nineteenth century.

Rover

Thank you, I supposed it was something not very positive about himself but I had no idea of the actual meaning.