English Teacher
Native Language
Dutch
Home Country
Netherlands
Current Location
Netherlands
Hi there,

As a rookie teacher I need to explain the difference between can/could and can't/couldn't to a class of (non-native) kids aged around 11/12 years old. Important detail to know: they know nothing about the past tense yet! In their textbook the distinction is described as follows:

Use can when showing: ability
Use can when: asking a question politely; proposing something; showing possibility.

I have no problems explaining clear sentences like:
- I'm feeling ill, so I can't come to your house this afternoon.
- Could you pass the salt?
- We could go swimming tomorrow.

However, I do have a lot of trouble explaining sentences where the key to textbook exercises (fill in the blanks - the blanks being the bold words) says these are the only correct answers:

- Rick probably know which ingredients to use. Couldn't we ask him?
In my opinion can't or could would be correct as well. Since you don't know the answer, and there 's no way of telling if the answer is going to be positive or negative.

- We need to make an assignment for class tomorrow. Couldn't we work on it together?
Same reason for last example.

- Can I ask you a question?
In my view could or may would both be correct as well.

Note: these are all textbook sentences said to be correct. Especially when sentences start with couldn't I don't really know how to explain to kids why this, and only this, should be the correct answer.

I hope someone can help me with this issue :)
Thanks in advance.

jutfrank

VIP Member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England