Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
Hello, this is my first post on this site, so I'd first like to take the opportunity to introduce myself to you all. I'm Dr. Wu, and though it has nothing to do with my real name, it's the name I shall be using on this forum. I don't do much writing, but when a subject I'm passionate about arises, the pen hits the paper, and I write away.

In regard to this post, it was recently bought to my attention that for around 18 years now, three men have been in a maximum security prison in America for a crime that, after reviewing the evidence, I found myself convinced they didn't commit. These men are known as the West Memphis Three.

Due to one of the convicted men having a predilection for poetry, I decided that though I have no experience in writing poetry, I thought it apt to try my hand at it.

Now, my question is about two words I have used; tortured's, and illusious. I will now explain what I mean by those words. Tortured's means the one who has been tortured, and illusious means something with the characteristics of an illusion. I know that both of these are mistakes, and I accept that these words don't exist, but I see English as a fluid, ever changing and evolving entity. So, my question is, is it acceptable to make a word up, not off the top of your head, but as a etymological derivative of another word, if you can't find a word suiting your needs?

I will paste the poem I've written so that you can get an idea of the context I've used them in. I will highlight the words with an asterisk on either side. Both are in the third verse.

A fight to the death, between battling minds,
a consequence less, to one of them binds,
born of ignorance, the fuel of the flames,
the wreathing of words, a foul grimace remains.

A twisted reminder, of trials unjust,
more or less broken, are the bonds of our trust,
to protect and to serve, a promise diseased,