Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Chinese
Home Country
China
Current Location
Spain
Hello, I want to apply for a PhD in European countries, like Switzerland, Sweden, Norway, Netherlands and so on. Could you please check my motivation letter and give some comments! Thank you all! I am also grateful to hear some suggestions.

I am an Erasmus Mundus Scholarship holder in European Master in XXXX. Currently, I am in my second year at XXXX University, UK, expected to graduate in June 2012. Now, I am writing to express my motivation and objectives to pursue a PhD position in Biomechanics at the Department of Mechanics.

One year ago, I graduated from XXXX University, which is one of the top ten universities in China. Through my undergraduate study, I have solidly grounded myself in the area of Mechanical Engineering. My academic performance has been always on the top of class, especially in the fields of mathematics and engineering mechanics.

It is my experience of several professional projects in my Bachelor degree that made me develop a love for research. In the second academic year, I have applied for the XXXX University undergraduates' scientific research project with two classmates, entitled ‘signal analysis on cavitation noise and vibration in liquid jet pump based on wavelet transform’. We used MATLAB wavelab to deal with the data of noise and vibration, and finally plot the time-frequency map of the signals, which is useful in optimal control the working conditions of the jet pump. This project brought me into a real world of engineering. From the signals collection and analysis to report writing, I have learned the significance of the dedication and perseverance to be a researcher and a group leader. Furthermore, in the final year, I did the research on fluid-structure interaction of the pipeline system in a nuclear power station, and my degree thesis of this project was awarded with the excellent bachelor thesis by Hubei Province, China.