English Teacher
Native Language
Greek
Home Country
Greece
Current Location
Greece
Dear Teachers,

I need some advice and I would be very grateful if you could help me... I obtained my proficiency certificate ten years ago and I have been teaching english for six years in english schools. The problem is that during all these years I haven't had the opportunity to practice the language with a native speaker.. As a result I am not as fluent as I shoul be in order to teach an adult for example.. All these years I have been teaching all levels from pre-junior to FCE level.. This year my ''boss'' told me to have a CPE class and I feel very nervous.. I am very responsible and I want the best for any student... My question to you is ridiculous because Iam a teacher and I am asking other teachers to help me! You see I'm an adult 35 years old and I can't imagine of ways that would help me at this age to be improved.I have a fear of not being able to answer a question in class because I may be asked something that slips my mind or something that I have completely forgotten..After the years of the absence of a proficient approach to the language, will I be able to teach this class? What should I do? Study grammar? Read books and look up the unknown words? Read texts from an exam paper? How could I have a regular chat with a native speaker?

Thank you very very much in advance

White Hat

Banned
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Russian
Home Country
Russian Federation
Current Location
Russian Federation