• Post Thanks / Like

Appropriateness in Language Use

I am currently studying the TESOL Diploma and have been blown away by the huge amount of material out there. English is my first language and I am struggling to comprehend alot of the books advised.

Part of Module 1 is "What is meant by appropriateness in language use" apart fromn writing this section for me, does anybody have any tips on sources to answer this section and any good, consise examples I can adopt?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

• Post Thanks / Like

Re: Appropriateness in Language Use

This, including the links at the foot of the page, is about as concise as it gets: LILT:Appropriateness

• Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for that - it was part 3 of my first essay - and I am still reading and re-reading it I completed part 2,

"explain with examples, how language varies according to the context in which it is spoken or written."

In this section I felt I had to show the differences between a request both verbally and written to my mum for dinner and then a business client. This now obviously has a massive overlap with this 3rd section and I feel like I am losing the flow of the essay altogether. Would you cut this example and go for a more simple example or continue with it and refer back to it when writing section 3.

The way they want me to structure the essay does not make it easy to flow in general as it is in 4 sections and I hate doing projects badly.

I think that I am asking a) about the flow between 2 and 3 and what to do with the example i have given, and b) Am I normal in my struggle to get this kind of essay to flow neatly from one point to the next..

Thanks in advance for your help.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

• Post Thanks / Like

What are the four sections?