About Mark Twain Quotes

Dear Teachers,

Hi, I'm an editor in Taiwan, editing a book talking about the true value of money and family. There're many qutotes the writer mentioned that we are not sure the meanings. Two of them are from Mark Twain.

I'm opposed to millionaires, but it would be a mistake to offer me the position. 覧Mark Twain
    We know every single word of it, but what is the whole meanings? Does he joke about he would not mind to become a millionaire himself?

His money is twice tainted: 'taint yours and 'taint mine. 覧Mark Twain
    What is "tainted" and " 'taint" here? What does Mark Twain try to say?

3. And, there's a another sentence in the article:
    "I felt like someone had jabbed me in the stomach with a Bayonne Flat so stale it couldn't even be salvaged for croutons."
    What the "Bayonne Flat" means here? Bayonne seems to be a place name in France. But why jab someone in the stomach with "a Bayonne Flat"? is it something particular?

We will be so appreciate if any of you teachers have the answer for any one of them.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • Ireland

Re: About Mark Twain Quotes

Quote Originally Posted by fionchi View Post
    Dear Teachers,

Hi, I'm an editor in Taiwan, editing a book talking about the true value of money and family. There're many qutotes the writer mentioned that we are not sure the meanings. Two of them are from Mark Twain.

I'm opposed to millionaires, but it would be a mistake to offer me the position. 覧Mark Twain
    We know every single word of it, but what is the whole meanings? Does he joke about he would not mind to become a millionaire himself?

Yes, he is saying that although he doesn't approve of millionaires, if someone offered him the possibility to be one, he would not say no.

Here 'taint' means 'it aint' which, in turn, means 'it is not'.

3. And, there's a another sentence in the article: