Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
  1. Newbie
    Student or Learner

Used to and would

Hi!
    I'm Emilio and it's my first time in this forum.

I can't understand the difference between 'used to' and 'would'.
    My teacher told me the secret is in the state verbs and action verbs...
    Could someone explain me, a little bit better, the real difference?

Sorry for my bad english (if someone want correct me it would be good)

Thanks!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Portuguese
      • Home Country:
      • Brazil
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: Used to and would

Quote Originally Posted by emilio View Post
    Hi!
    I'm Emilio and it's my first time in this forum.

I can't understand the difference between 'used to' and 'would'.
    My teacher told me the secret is in the state verbs and action verbs...
    Could someone explain me, a little bit better, the real difference?

Sorry for my bad english (if someone want correct me it would be good)

Thanks!
    If I were you, I would post some comparative examples with "would" and "used to".
    When I was new here in this forum I used to post without examples, so it was difficult for the readers to help me. Nowadays I always post with examples.

The construction "used to" may be used when something which happened frequently in the past does not happen anymore in the present.

Smile Re: Used to and would

Quote Originally Posted by ymnisky View Post
    If I were you, I would post some comparative examples with "would" and "used to".
    When I was new here in this forum I used to post without examples, so it was difficult for the readers to help me. Nowadays I always post with examples.

The construction "used to" may be used when something which happened frequently in the past does not happen anymore in the present.
    Hi Ymnisky,

Here are few examples of what this poster is looking for.