I teach school.

Dear teachers,

If you're a school teacher and telling about your occupation,
    saying "I teach school." be OK? Or better to say "I teach at school." or "I teach at a school."?

Thank you.

Re: I teach school.

Quote Originally Posted by bouji View Post
    Dear teachers,

saying "I teach school." be OK? Or better to say "I teach at school." or "I teach at a school."?

Thank you.
    For occupation --> I teach {___}. OR I'm a teacher.

Quote Originally Posted by bouji View Post
    Dear teachers,

Thank you.
    I agree with Albeit. However, if you want to include "school", you could say, "I'm a schoolteacher".

bouji さん、こんにちは!

- I'm a high school teacher.
    - I teach high school.
    - I teach at high school

Are these all OK?
    Last edited by Daruma; 04-Sep-2009 at 06:31.

Quote Originally Posted by Daruma View Post
    - I'm a high school teacher.
    - I teach high school.
    - I teach at high school

Are these all OK?
    Yes, they're okay, but the third one needs an article "a high school', and it would only make sense to say the third one in response to the question "Where do you teach?" or something similar.

What do you do? I'm a highschool teacher.

What do you do? I teach highschool. - It's possible, but I don't like it. I'd rather use the first one or say "I teach highschool students".

Do you teach English at an ESL school? No, I teach English at a highschool.

high school: Definition from Answers.com - compound noun

I'd say it's okay to use "highschool" as an adjective - noun used as an adjective. It's often written as two words, but it's about time we started writing it as one word. It's really a compound noun.

A high school is a school that is high, but a highschool is a school.

"highschool" and "high school"

Thanks a lot, PROESL.

Is it still rare to use "a highschool teacher" in place of "a high school teacher"?

Re: "highschool" and "high school"

Quote Originally Posted by Daruma View Post
    Thanks a lot, PROESL.