• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • Germany

condition as a verb

What recommendations would you give for the use of the word condition as a verb -- in the sense of make something a condition or making something conditional on? I am a freelance writer / editor and never use the verb in this way. However, the editor of a publication I work for (whose native language is not English but has been educated in English-language schools) uses it frequently as below. This does not seem correct to me and I would change it. However, the author of these sentences has the final word.

It expressed support for the French government’s stance to condition a regulatory approach to BPA on scientific data and the evaluations of the relevant authorities.

GM has conditioned the agreement on Opel remaining fully integrated in GM’s global product development organisation

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

Re: condition as a verb

Quote Originally Posted by Quincytree View Post
    What recommendations would you give for the use of the word condition as a verb -- in the sense of make something a condition or making something conditional on? I am a freelance writer / editor and never use the verb in this way. However, the editor of a publication I work for (whose native language is not English but has been educated in English-language schools) uses it frequently as below. This does not seem correct to me and I would change it. However, the author of these sentences has the final word.

It expressed support for the French government’s stance to condition a regulatory approach to BPA on scientific data and the evaluations of the relevant authorities.

GM has conditioned the agreement on Opel remaining fully integrated in GM’s global product development organisation