• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Does this sentence require a comma?

In the following sentence, I think the word writing is considered to be the understood subject of the second clause and and the verb is can be considered to be the understook verb of the same claue. If that is so, then a comma before but would not be correct. However, this sentence has me confused. Should a comma go before the word but or not.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: Does this sentence require a comma?

Where is the sentence you want us to review?
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Question Re: Does this sentence require a comma?

Dear Barb,

I haven't got a clue what you mean by "second conditionals," and am now even more lost! I can understand a simple yes or no response, though. Do you vote for the comma or not?

Thanks

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

That's just my signature line, and it's not related to your sentence. I cannot find the sentence you want reviewed. Where is it?
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

VIP Member
    English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • China

I'm curious now.

• Member Info
      • Native Language: