1. Newbie
    Student or Learner

• Post Thanks / Like

Question Language usage

Hello Teachers!

I am a student and here to improve my English learning skills with your guidance. I have a question about language communication in writing.

What type of language should we use in writing to a group of people of high education or PhD's?

Formal or just plain clear language?

As I read that letters should be clear, logical, and to the point. And formal I guess is more congested full of concrete words.

Help me out here!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

• Post Thanks / Like

Re: Language usage

I don't know why people think that complex words densely packed together is "formal" or better in any way.

Clear,concise writing is always appreciated.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

• Post Thanks / Like

I can understand Barb's perception, but the reason we use academic English is not to appear formal or better. It is to re-define terms for the entire field of investigation which have no real-world ties to emotional attitudes, value judgments or other associations.

For instance, when the academic term "dialect" became popularly used, it began to signify a hierarchy. A "central" language that was "the best one" was now not a dialect, in the eyes of the general population, but other less frequent varieties were now "mere dialects, or (inferior) variations" on a theme.

So academics came up with the new term "geolect" meaning local variant, which had no value judgments associated with it.