Unhappy Teacher

Hello every one
    I am a high school English teacher from Peshawar, Pakistan.I teach at a school with around 700 students(Montessori-grade 12).the medium of instruction is English for all the subjects taught.We encourage and emphasize a lot on spoken English.Although our students are able to communicate in English (not Excellent),there is a resistance to spoken English among most of them, especially boys.Since I am the coordinator for spoken English, I face a tough time to make them communicate in English. They do so in the classroom and with the teachers but the moment they are out of our sight, they switch to their first languages(pashto/urdu).I have tried positive and negative reinforcement tactics but without any success.
    First of all, I want to ask whether it is OK to impose the speaking of second language in the school?Secondly, I want some good tips as to how to make the students use spoken English willingly.
    Please help

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

Re: Teacher

May God grant you the wisdom to accept what you cannot change.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

There is something unnatural about talking in a second language to someone who speaks the same first language. Many people find it difficult or embarrassing, so they will avoid it, which will make imposing your policy very difficult. I'd try to do it bit by bit and encouraging them to feel less embarrassed about it.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Arabic
      • Home Country:
      • Tunisia
      • Current Location:
      • Tunisia

Unhappy Re: Teacher