1. Unregistered

[URGENT] test is next week 2

I thought, parallelism is the easiest topic dealt in English grammar but it turned out to be one of the most baffling topics i have studied so far,,

My questions go..

1. More people are visiting museums in US than in Cananda
    -> according to the rule, shouldn't it be "ones in Canada" than "in canada"?

2. With her command of pathos and tragedy and being humorous, George Eliot is considered to be a great English novelist.
    -> the book i'm studying says this sentence is wrong. but "With her command of pathos and tragedy and being humorous" is compound phrase that puts 2 idea (1. her commend of pathos and tragedy, and 2. her being humorous) in one, can't i say it's grammatically right?

3. The labor nuion is negotiating a contract with the hospital that will satisfy the demands of the workers and be acceptable to all levels of management.
    -> I think here, the parallelism is between "that will satisfy" and "be acceptable to".
    Why there is no need to put "will" before "be acceptable"?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Turkish
      • Home Country:
      • Turkey
      • Current Location:
      • Turkey

Re: [URGENT] test is next week 2

1. a-More people are visiting museums in US than in Canada
    b-More people are visiting museums in US than the ones in Canada

The both is OK and sounds fine to me. Maybe the first one emphasizes the country while the latter does it for the museums in Canada. We'd better wait for a native-speaker to pay a visit to this thread whether the both sentences do differ in the aspect they are referring to or they don't

2. With her command of pathos and tragedy and being humorous, George Eliot is considered to be a great English novelist.

It sounds good to me.I see nothing wrong

3. The labor union is negotiating a contract with the hospital that will satisfy the demands of the workers and be acceptable to all levels of management.