• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Japanese
      • Home Country:
      • Japan
      • Current Location:
      • Japan

With his left hand/With the left hand

I have once heard the difference in meaning between the following sentences.
    1. He tossed the ball with his left hand. (= He used his left hand, and not his right hand.)
    2. He tossed the ball with the left hand. (= He used his left hand because he is lefty.)

Do native speakers strictly distinguish 1. from 2.?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: With his left hand/With the left hand

I wouldn't say #2.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

Hello!

I would not have any problems with these sentences if they were in simple present tense: He tosses the ball with his/the left hand. In other words he usually uses the left hand when tossing. Thus we can say that he is left-handed. But in the case of the simple past tense sentences the possibility of him being lefty depends on the context in which those sentences occur.
    I'm not a native speaker so it would be interesting to have a native speaker's opinion.
    By the way, I wonder if we can omit determiners his/the in both sentences because we know that he had to use his own hand to toss.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Japanese
      • Home Country:
      • Japan
      • Current Location:
      • Japan

Thank you everyone for your advice.
    I found the following description in Longman's Comprehensive Grammar of the English Language.

"She throws the ball
    with her left hand [2]
    ?with her left hand [2a]
    One factor which could make [2a] acceptable, and indeed normal, is the interpretation 'she is left-handed'. Similarly: