1. Unregistered

past tense

To whom it may concern,

I have problem with my past tense, could you suggest an easy way that I could pick out the wrong tenses in my sentences.

I often get comments like "ungrammatical, wrong tenses and confused" and "you do need to seek help in writing English".

Thank you

Tony

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: past tense

Do you want to post a paragraph that received that kind of feedback?
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

Yes please.

In his speech, Bob Carr ingeniously combined US Bill of Rights to outright referendum rejection of the bill. At this stage of the argument, there was no clear intention of which bill of rights Australia were adopting. It could be UK Human Rights or New Zealand Bill of Rights or Universal Declaration of Human Rights but he lead us to believe US Bill of Rights was the debate. Bob Carr is well known for his expertise in US Bill Of Rights.

The first paragraph I used "ingeniously" received a comment "use word that you understand"

From the research articles, books and arguments that I have the privilege in reading, it comes to the fact that the right may not be so right but the wrong is also right. I believed that protecting the rights of all individuals and minorities is essentially imperative whether it is in a constitutional Bill of Rights or Charter of Rights or even in the statutory interpretation of Acts or Legislation. I agreed that Parliament could not issue a bill of rights for everyone because Australia has so many treaties with the United Nations and other countries. The bill of rights might in fact come into conflict with them.

The second paragraph, I think I shouldn't have add this in. Received a comment "you're confused".

Hello Barb D