Question Simple subject and predicate of a sentence help

I am a lawyer with a B.A. in English. Unfortunately, I seem to have forgotten quite a bit of my grammar instruction from my college days. I explained simple subjects and simple predicates to my German neice recently. She did well on the more simple sentences but then ended up stumped with this one:

One contestant might join with another contestant and may fence on a team.

My initial thought: Simple subject is contestant. Simple predicates are join and fence. But now I'm second-guessing myself and my brain hurts.

Any thoughts?

Re: Simple subject and predicate of a sentence help

Quote Originally Posted by MonikaWo View Post
    I am a lawyer with a B.A. in English. Unfortunately, I seem to have forgotten quite a bit of my grammar instruction from my college days. I explained simple subjects and simple predicates to my German neice recently. She did well on the more simple sentences but then ended up stumped with this one:

My initial thought: Simple subject is contestant. Simple predicates are join and fence. But now I'm second-guessing myself and my brain hurts.

Any thoughts?
    The simple subject in a sentence is the thing that is "doing the verb" without all its modifiers.

One contestant = complete subject
    contestant = simple subject

What is a predicate? The predicate is a part of a sentence that we get by removing the subject. What remains of the sentence after removal is the predicate.

sentence = subject + predicate
    predication = predicate - the first helping verb in the verb phrase (if there is any)

simple predicate = only the the verb(s)
    complete predicate = sentence - subject

Let us apply this to the sentence at hand:

As you can see there are two clauses and, maybe not too surprisingly, two verb phrases. If you do not trust your knowledge in grammar, ask yourself this question: