• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Arabic
      • Home Country:
      • Algeria
      • Current Location:
      • Algeria

grammar

Hello, my question this time concerns the use of tenses , my sense says that we should use "the continuous present" with the temporary actions , for instance :i am studying english this term , our teacher says tht's wrong and that we should use the present simple with the temporary actions and say , i study english this term , she tryed to convince me but my reason didn't accept it so which one is right and which one is wrong ,
    thank you and have a lovely day

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: grammar

Quote Originally Posted by saddouda View Post
    Hello, my question this time concerns the use of tenses , my sense says that we should use "the continuous present" with the temporary actions , for instance :i am studying english this term , our teacher says tht's wrong and that we should use the present simple with the temporary actions and say , i study english this term , she tryed to convince me but my reason didn't accept it so which one is right and which one is wrong ,
    ***NOT A TEACHER***I agree with you, but don't tell your teacher!!! (1) I am studying English this term./ I study English every day. (2) Mona is cooking dinner (only tonight)./George cooks dinner ( every night of the week). (3) Tony is 30 years old. He lost his job. So he is now living with his parents./ Pamela is 2 years old. She lives with her parents -- of course!!!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Serbian
      • Home Country:
      • Serbia
      • Current Location:
      • Serbia