English Beginner

Status
Not open for further replies.

schoolteacher

Member Type
English Teacher
Hi, I'm new here and would like to ask anyone who has had some experience teaching English to beginners. I am a primary school teacher and have decided to do some extra work teaching English to adult beginners. However, I'm not sure where to start. I already have my first student that I have met for the first time.

His native language is Arabic and after assessing him,there were some minor problems throughout my introduction lesson.1. He does not wait for me to finish a word and then pronunciation is incorrect. 2. Although he has some ability, he is finding it difficult with his self esteem as his friends have been making fun of him when he is incorrect. 3. He says in the past he does not practice English.

My problem is structuring the lesson and also where do I start? Do I start with the alphabet and numbers? As I have taught primary education and in high school this is a difficult avenue for me but I'm keen to teach English to Adults. Hope you can help.:lol:

phrasemix

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Hi schoolteacher,
I have a few years of experience teaching adults at different levels of English in this kind of one-on-one setting. Without knowing much about the situation, I would strongly discourage going to the alphabet and other really low-level basics. Not that he might not need it, but I think that there's a pride aspect that will get in the way.